News: Galway Ag Student Wins FRS Scholarship

The 7th  All-Ireland final of the FRS Memorial Scholarship took place at the Teagasc / Macra na Feirme Colleges Challenge Day in Mountbellew Agricultural College, Co. Galway last week (21st January). Scholarship winner, Martin Hoade from Tuam, was representing Mountbellew Agricultural College.

The scholarship is run in conjunction with Macra na Feirme and a winner is selected to represent each Teagasc college as a national finalist.

In the national final, Martin gave his winning presentation on Dr. Edmond Harty, Dairymaster, a leader he admired, to a judging panel made up of Mike Clarke FRS, Kieran O’ Dowd, Macra na Feirme, and Frank Murphy, Teagasc.

Macra National President, Kieran O’Dowd, said, “Giving a young farmer the exposure to how a reputable and long established organisation like FRS is run will stand to that person as they embark on their career. It is a great opportunity that should be embraced by Martin with both hands. I am confident it will be.”

Involved in the home dairy enterprise at eighteen years of age and with a big interest in cars, Martin will be busy as he takes up the scholarship. Winning first prize means Martin will spend the three months after he finishes in Mountbellew gaining experience in all aspects of the Farm Relief Services business in their local office.

FRS Scholarship Winner 2015 (3)

Martin Hoade, winner of the FRS Memorial Scholarship, pictured receiving his trophy from Frank Murphy, Teagasc; Michael Clarke, FRS; and President of Macra na Feirme, Kieran O’Dowd.